how i got chandler running on gentoo (Part 1)

I’m a big fan of chandler. I have it on my mac at work and it really helps me stay on top of stuff. I’m not really a fan of the whole inbox-zero theory (my mail is in gmail and its searchable easily) but I am getting the hang of now-list-zero with chandler. The gui does have its quirks and if it finally makes it to my (gentoo based) netbook it will push that to her limits pretty fast. Despite all the problems chandler has, it is the first software that made me implement my personal version of getting things done and stick with it.

Happy as I am with chandler at work, I’ve decided to start using chandler for private things as well. Now, all my own PCs run gentoo linux so I’m clearly going to take the high road and compile my way through chandler using the highly experimental ebuilds from the gentoo bugtracker.

The first setback I experienced was that the source tarball from the OSAF being a whopping 200M large. Looking at the ebuild tells me this is going to be one of those gunky tarballs that contain loads of repackaged dependencies that are probably patched to hell in some mad way that never made it upstream.

Next on my fun chandler odysee was recompiling my sys-devel/gcc with the gcj useflag, resulting in support for some strange compileable javatm thingy. This also means I’ll have to recompile parts of my crossdev toochain, since I will probably have to do binary packages for the netbook due to the large source tree.

The rest of the ebuild does look rather nice though. Chandler seems to contains some upstreamworthy patches and at some date this might even work out to become something quite usable.

Stay tuned for the next part after some compiling or more hacking about and recompiling after my new gcc is ready.

Leave a Reply

